Training Advice and Opinions Please (Read 886 times)

First of all, I look at the forums here almost everyday at lunch but I seldom post. I have been using the online log since December 2007. I had a 4 month layoff and started back running in Feb 07. I only missed 3 weeks spread out through the 2007 year and averaged a little over 18 miles per week. I am frustrated as to why my performance has falling so badly since the beginning of this year. I ran a few hard training efforts (probably too hard) for 3.1 miles back in late Dec 07 and Jan 08 at 27:50 to 28:20. I even played around with some repititions in Feb. So, I race 5K's in March and April 08 at 29:16, 28:53, and 28:09. I wore a HR monitor and I know the effort as far as HR goes was there considering what I averaged back on my hard efforts in Dec 07 and Jan 08. I also tried a 10K on 5/3/08 and did terrible and my HR was jacked throughout that race. I had another 10K the week after that but I did not really race it. I just ran it because I was in the vincity. Any opinions as to what I have done wrong or suggestions for improvement would be greatly appreciated. For reference, my best 5K was in 4/21/07 after starting back from the 4 month layoff and only averaged 16 miles per week leading up to the race. I did not have the HR monitor back then. The highest HR I have seen is 185 at the end of one of my 5K races and I do not think I could have squeezed much more out.