Half in March - focus on speed or endurance (Read 129 times)

AndyTN

Overweight per CDC BMI

While I will likely do some shorter races ad-hoc over the next couple months, the next seriously training regiment will start soon for my local half marathon March 8th. I have gained a tremendous amount of endurance over the past year training hard and went from my 1st half last March at 8:12 per mile to my 2nd half in Nov at 7:39 per mile. Before that half PR, my mileage had increased to 30-35 miles per week for a month, which I would say is my max with a busy job and two young kids.

Because I am still fairly new at serious training, I still believe I have a lot of potential gains to make. Since I seem to do better at short distances like 5k, when using the pace equivalency calculators, I am thinking I still need time focusing on endurance. I know most responses will probably say a mix of speed, long, and easy runs, which I will still do but should my overall focus be on the endurance runs?

I like doing long tempo runs where I run 5-6 miles in the middle at a pretty fast pace with a total of 10-12 miles. Should I even be doing interval sprints or just let the tempo runs be my speed work?

Memphis / 38 male

5k - 20:39 / 10k - 43:48 / Half - 1:34:47 / Full - 3:38:10

slingrunner

As you mentioned, you'll probably get the biggest bang for your buck by increasing your overall mileage, but you said you are already maxed out for the time you have.

My suggestions would be focus more on tempos, but still do some occasional faster intervals (maybe 1200m)@5k pace, although that can vary.  Also make sure you are doing your tempos at the right speed.  A 5-6 mile tempo run is a pretty long run for you, and it's possible you are going too slow.  Maybe average 1-2 workouts per week, depending on your recovery ability.

5k- 18:55 (2018)    10K- 39:04 (2017)    Marathon- 3:00:10 (2018)

Marky_Mark_17

As the Rogue Running guys say, train your weaknesses early and your strengths late.