Newbie Question: Vitamins (Read 1787 times)

Hey! I'm pretty new to running, started training in December for my first marathon coming up this May. I've been doing the miles, but now that I've gotten up to heavy duty miles (at least for me), it's getting a little harder energy-wise, even the weekday runs leading up the long runs are getting harder. I need to run in the morning, preferably on an empty stomach, but I've realized now with my first 16 mile run coming up that I need more energy and some food, too.

So, does anyone have any suggestions for a good vitamin or energy supplement? I'm trying different gu and clif energy shots during the run. I was hoping to get advice on a good daily vitamin and/or supplement to help me with running in general. I was thinking of beHot by GNC, but I don't really need anything geared for weight loss - I'm 112 lbs and 5'2". So, if anyone has any advice for me, it would be awesome.

Thanks!

I mean, I'm not any where near to that distance but I take a basic multi-vitamin and two b-12s early in the morning. Before I run I eat half a clif bar and water it down a good half hour before I run so that I don't "lose it" during the run. Yesterday I tried the Gatorade G-1, and my response is not to become a victim. It felt like exactly what it looks like, saturated gatorade.

What are your experiences with the gels? I'm finding that around my 6th mile I'm getting light headed.

runwietecha

It may not be a bad idea to sometimes continue to run on an empty stomach during your long runs.  The ability to break down fats for fuel during the marathon is a huge part of the race.  If you're always taking in carbohydrates, you're body will have trouble making that adaptation. I've tried a lot of different multivitamins and I really like these:

The directions say to take three a day, but I would just take two and try to eat somewhat healthy.