Triathlon or no? (Read 629 times)

I'm relatively new to running (since May) and have run only two races so far, a 5k and a 5 mile. I ran the 5 mile on Saturday at a 9:21 pace, which isn't horrible considering the humidity was 93%. My speed and distance have improved a lot over a short period of time.

I'm also a good swimmer and I bike a lot. I don't have a great racing bike, it's a hybrid, but I've put a fair amount of miles on it, up to 53 miles in a day.

The opportunity has arisen to do a sprint-distance triathlon next month: Half mile swim, 12 mile bike, 3.1 mile run. It's women only (yes I am female), and the event website says it's a great event for both competitive athletes and first-timers. There is a training session tomorrow evening where would-be competitors can try out the race course.

I'd really like to do this race, more for personal accomplishment than competitive athleticism, but am feeling less than confident. Should I go for it? Any advice?

navghtivs

If you are OK with swimming and cycling, you should be fine with a sprint-distance tri. 

Go for it!  You may be hooked.  In April, 2009, I did my 1st sprint triathlon, and I loved it so much that I continued to swim, bike and run until I ended out finishing my 1st Ironman in May, 2012.  (Since that race, I've been somewhat of a lazy bum, but that's another story). 

I love being active, and I love the balance that the 3 sports provides. 
        Rather than only running (or only biking, or only swimming), the mixture between the 3 is a great from the norm.

Brian

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

Yeah, the variety of running/biking/swimming is what's really interesting to me. I get bored if I focus on only one thing for too long and running is fun, but I'm ready for a change in pace and this race seems like a great opportunity to do it in a relatively low-key environment. Brian, If you did an Ironman four months ago I'd hardly call you a lazy bum for taking some time off...!