Your experience with coaches and recommendations (Read 129 times)

fimmx

I would love to hear about your experience working with coaches and coach references.

I have been running since 2010, mostly self coached. A couple of times I tried to use co-workers as coaches (they offered), I ended up being injured. My fault entirely! I have loftier running goals now and am wondering if working with a coach could help. I'd love to hear how a coach worked out for you.

I might not be the most objective guy to respond due to the fact that I have coached a lot of runners over the years. My main goal with runners over the years has been to get them to become lifetime runners and not a flash in the pan. The ones who listened are more than likely to still be running. Sadly some of them did too much, too soon, too fast and injuries or burn out caused them to leave running.

You mentioned listening to coaches but decided your way was best.

Finding a coach and being comfortable with that person seems to,work best. I have turned away athletes who had answers before my questions.

Some street creds: over 88,000 miles run coming up on 42 years of mostly injury free running. Coached the All Army Marathon team back in the early 80’s. Still running 40-50 miles a week.

Tell you what, I would be willing to chat with you and if we click I will coach you for free. Actually,

if you make a donation to my favorite charity(St Jude’s) or your favorite charity we will be even. PM me if interested. Nick

Fredford66

Waltons ThreadLord