Watch alarm for running/walking intervals (Read 77 times)

Bluejayfeather

So, my doctor and I were talking about my hip.  He suggested that I run for a minute and walk for 30 seconds.  He said that I could get an alarm that would tell me when a minute had passed.

Would this alarm be in a watch?  What would I buy?

Half Crazy K 2.0

I have a Garmin 220 and it has a run/walk feature that does what you are looking for. Not sure what other Garmins have this.

Joe618

So, my doctor and I were talking about my hip.  He suggested that I run for a minute and walk for 30 seconds.  He said that I could get an alarm that would tell me when a minute had passed.

I've been doing the run/walk for nearly ten years.   You have several options.

Many Garmin's have this feature.   I personally prefer the Timex Ironman Series Watches, the ones with the 50 or 100 lap timing feature.   These watches have an interval timer and you can set it for both the walk and run cycles and then it repeats without any intervention on your part.   If you want to use your smart phone, search in your App store for "run walk Intervals timer" and you'll find a lot of choices.  

Don't overthink it.   Get one of these and try it out.   BTW, the cycle the Doc suggests seems like a wise one, to me.  

If you are interested, I've written a lot about run walk...you can start here and follow the links.

Joe

________

I have nothing particularly clever or profound to add as a tag to each message...I just like to run.   

Bluejayfeather

I looked at both the Garmin and the Timex Ironman watches.  The Timex is quite a bit cheaper.  Does it have less features than the Garmin?  Is there are reason why it is cheaper?

Joe618

I looked at both the Garmin and the Timex Ironman watches.  The Timex is quite a bit cheaper.  Does it have less features than the Garmin?  Is there are reason why it is cheaper?