blood pressure ?s (Read 954 times)

and a little interesting factoid I found out about during a recent stress test....your blood pressure (at least mine) takes off during excercise. I was pushing a little over 200 on the top end towards the end of the test. It may remain slightly elavated after stopping excercise so taking the BP right after may lead to false indications too. I am on bp meds and I was actually able to at least cut mine in half after losing some weight and getting excercise. BP tends to go up with age which may be why once you go on the meds, you can't ever get off....... I am not a real doctor either....

Just Be

and a little interesting factoid I found out about during a recent stress test....your blood pressure (at least mine) takes off during excercise. I was pushing a little over 200 on the top end towards the end of the test. It may remain slightly elavated after stopping excercise so taking the BP right after may lead to false indications too. I am on bp meds and I was actually able to at least cut mine in half after losing some weight and getting excercise. BP tends to go up with age which may be why once you go on the meds, you can't ever get off....... I am not a real doctor either....
      Systolic should increase linearly with exercise intensity - readings of up to 220mmHg at maximum exertion are not uncommon. Diastolic should not increase or decrease by more than 15 from your normal base average reading - if it does, there's a problem.