Heart Rate (Read 171 times)

RussAlda

Hi

I've been running 5k twice a week for 2 months and have recently bought a heart rate monitor to see what's going on in there.

Turns out I'm running at around 180bpm
    That sounds very high to me and according to the max heart rate formulas that's supposed to be my 100% however when I run don't feel like I'm going to die...

My pace is about 5:15 minutes per km

So what's going on ? should I slow down ? is this ok ? how does that site with the zones (i.e. cardio zone 140-160)

Thanks !

The formulas are usually not even close to accurate.  I think it is important to find your true max (or close to it) and then figure out your appropriate training zones.  If you google heart rate training there are ways to figure out your max which involve running some 800s and getting close to peak exhaustion.  You can also do a max stress test performed by an exercise physiologist.    It is important to know your max and your resting HR, then you can do some meaningful HR work.

Out there running since dinosaurs roamed the earth

max which involve running some 800s and getting close to peak exhaustion.  

This is the only way to find your maximum heart rate.  You run some intervals, each one harder, with the last one flat out.  I'm not sure, but I think 400's might be better than 800's.  If you are still standing at the end, you were not running flat out.  Do it on an empty stomach, that way you will only dry heave.

It's a brutal workout.  I did it once, and that was enough.

GinnyinPA

The charts are an average, they don't necessarily apply to individuals who may vary considerably from that average. i.e. at 60, my max is somewhere around 185-190, I think. I haven't tested it, but I've been at 182 on a tempo run, so I know I'm above that, at the least. Using a HR monitor is mostly of value only if you know your actual not theoretical maximum.