5K travesty...but I will be back (Read 838 times)

runNC

So...my story in a nutshell... I am pretty new to running... I had run two 5K's in the spring and finished at 20:41 and 20:43 respectively. My goal was to try to get under 20 minutes...so, I started the training routine (8 weeks, speed workouts, long runs, etc.). I signed up for a flat 5k race in Beaufort, NC this past weekend, July 19th. The heat and humidity were outrageous at 90 degrees and seemingly 150% humidity... Dead I started the race I thought at a pretty hard but managable pace, only to notice that my first mile was way faster then intended (5:39). I throttled back a bit and they hosed us down at about the 1.5 mile mark (I was starting to feel heated at this point). At 2 miles my bosy still felt in control but I was fighting the mental anguish telling me to stop (we all get that little voice . At 2.5 miles, I noticed I was in 4th or 5th place, so a second wind told me to run harder...at 2.75 miles, it happened...my head started aching a bit and I looked down at my legs, they were still moving at a pretty good clip but it almost looked as though I was waddling like a duck...right at 3 miles (18:47 time), I thought I was at the finish line and kinda slowed down... then tried to restart when I realized I was not in control of my body (I was hallucinating). A few folks rushed out of the crowd and grabbed my arms, before I knew it I couldn't stand up anymore and they caught me as I stumbled. Quickly paramedics layed me on the sidewalk and they were taking my blood pressure and throwing icy cold towels over my body...unbelievable...after 10-12 minutes of being treated, I slowly regained control over my body, though I was still a bit light headed...I walked to the finish line unassisted and people cheered me crazily as they had seem my will to finish the race... Although goal wasn't officially reached yet, I was overwhelmed with the general sense of humanity and how people really just wanted to see someon