Tight/Sore calves out of the blue (Read 129 times)

Not dead. Yet.

Hi!  I haven't posted for a while.  I kind of fell out of running for a month or more in January and have trying to slowly build back up to some decent mileage.  This weekend I have my first half-marathon in about a year, so I'm in taper mode.

Last week on a few runs my calves started to get really sore and tight early in the run.  It feels exactly like it felt when I was trying to get my body acquainted with zero drop shoes, but I'm running in shoes and inserts that are well broken in.  I've been running in these same shoes for a few months and haven't had any problems until now.  I gave them a good massage a few days later and it got better for a few days and then last night the same thing happened.  My slow, easy 3 mile run was not easy at all.  Calves were super tight again and it made even completing the short slow run difficult.  I bet you can guess that I am worried about my half-marathon this weekend.  If I get sore calves early in the race it's not going to be fun.  It's going to suck, in fact.

What could be going on?  My equipment hasn't changed and suddenly an issue pops up out of the blue.  I'm racking my brain but can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

More importantly, do you have an advice on how I can alleviate the pain and make sure it doesn't happen on race day?

Thanks for your input!

How can we know our limits if we don't test them?

What is going on is you are running, and that makes things happen to your body. Don't running injuries always come out of the blue?