GPS watch recommendations (Read 382 times)

drewL

Lots of old threads and lots of new options.  What do people recommend for a GPS watch.  My criteria:

- Cost

- Quick startup/ satellite sync

- Dedicated running

- Simple/painless connectivity with RunningAhead.com

- Good battery for long runs (marathon training)

- Comfort and form factor

- Durability

- Water resistant/proof - I sweat big time in the summer

- I don't need Garmin Connect or some other service - hey I've got RA.com!

- Comforable heart rate monitor

I've been running with the Forerunner 305 for 7 years (replaced once with factory refurb program).  It's time for a new watch, and one of the most important features is RA.com compatibility!

Thanks for your input!

Member Since 2008

I have been using the same Garmin 205 since 2007.  I have never had a single problem with it.  It is an older model so it doesn't link up to anything but I enjoy manually loading the data as much as I do running.  I even took a couple of years off, pulled it out of the drawer and it still had a charge.

If I were to buy a new GPS it would be a Garmin, without second thought.

Feeling the growl again

I would avoid anything Timex....it won't last...I've had good luck with Garmin.  I still use a 201 from 2005-2006...I've thought it dead a few times and I can't do laps as the memory is full and I can't empty it because the mode button quit working last year...but the battery still goes 13 hours like when it was new and it is otherwise fully functional.  Can't ask for better longevity than that out of an electronic device exposed to corrosive conditions whenever in use.