Indoor Bike Trainer (Read 1142 times)

labhiker

Im looking for suggestions on a good indoor bike trainer. Im interested in adding some cross training to my running yet can not ride outdoors due to winter conditions. Im thinking that an indoor trainer may help. Im thinking of the kind that holds the back wheel inplace and allows you to jump on and ride with controled resistance. Having never used any indoor trainers Im interested in hearing what others may think of the devices. Im thinking its a more practical way to ride, without buying and expensive stationary exercise bike. Any special models to look for? Or avoid? Im looking for something which may be more middle of the road in terms of cost. I like to run distance however have not advanced into tri's yet, so Im a complete rookie on the bike. Simply what to get some good aerobic time on a bike and possibly give the legs a little rest from icy roads.

labhiker

invisible

I'm just posting this picture because a friend has an IRONMAN and it's beautiful to behold. It's approx. $1000 Canadian.
      90 percent of the game is not giving up.
        Rollers are better than wind or mag trainers...depends on how much cash you want to spend. I have a mag trainer for Bike Nashbar and it does what I need it to do...and it only cost about $100.00 bucks. rollers make you maintain balance...
        labhiker

Invisible WOW - I would love that bike. Great pic. Being a rookie Im not sure I could justify its purchase with the family? I think I read that the fan-type models are not the best and fluid-types may be better. Where is a good place to pick up a half way decent trainer? A bike shop? REI type store?

labhiker

Invisible WOW - I would love that bike. Great pic. Being a rookie Im not sure I could justify its purchase with the family? I think I read that the fan-type models are not the best and fluid-types may be better. Where is a good place to pick up a half way decent trainer? A bike shop? REI type store?