New Garmin Gear Recommendation (Read 107 times)

MrMESherrod

Hi!  I'm new to the forum and new to distance running.  I've been using a Vivoactive 3 Music for several years now, and in general I'm happy with it.  However, I've started training to be able to run a marathon.  My current watch doesn't allow for GPS sync / directions and I'm looking for a low price-point Garmin that does.  I don't need all the functionality of the Forerunner 945, so is there an earlier model that will help me?  TIA

Re-Run

Misinformation Officer

Congratulations on your running! If you are on a laptop or desktop, try searching the numerous older threads about GPS watches here. DC Rainmaker has great info, but can be overwhelming.

After years using Garmin and now defunct TomTom watches, my hubs and I both ended up with Coros. Cheaper, longer battery life, love them. Happy researching!

Runs like a dj mixing songs while wearing festive outfits.
      5k PR 5/31/21 24:21 

10k PR 5/23 54:43

HM PR 1/2024 1:59:10

Marky_Mark_17

Nice!!  If you like Garmin, then a simpler version would be the FR55 or FR245.  I used the FR235 (an earlier version of the 245) for a number of years and really liked it.  Good luck with the marathon training.

3,000m: 9:07.7 (Nov-21) | 5,000m: 15:39 (Dec-19) | 10,000m: 32:34 (Mar-20)  

10km: 33:15 (Sep-19) | HM: 1:09:41 (May-21)* | FM: 2:41:41 (Oct-20)

* Net downhill course

Last race: Maraetai HM, 10 Mar, DNF

Up next: Waterfront HM, 7 Apr

"CONSISTENCY IS KING"

My current watch doesn't allow for GPS sync / directions and I'm looking for a low price-point Garmin that does. 

If you mean turn by turn navigation, then I believe the lowest-end model that does that is the 245.

Dave