Question: Training Plan Pacing Adjustments (Read 1064 times)

Tomorrow will be worse

Sorry if this is a repeat thread - I know I've seen this question asked before, though I haven't ever gotten a clear answer.

When people start a training plan (for marathon, 1/2 marathon, whatever) they start with a given "easy pace" and adjust their pacing based on past race results (where they exist). All training paces are based off of that for the training program, normally 16-20 weeks for most of the standard cookie-cutter plans.

Background: I started training 6 months out from a goal marathon is OK normal-person shape, but far from my current running form. At the time, I was able to run a 5K in 24-25 mins. I'm now 4 months into training, 2 months out from the marathon, and I think my 5K time is 20-21, just based on training feel (I plan to confirm this on my tempo day tomorrow with a not quite all-out 5K). So I'm fitter and faster now than when I started as just a "generally-more-active-than-a-normal-fat-person" (I just noticed what I wrote, and sadly it's true; "normal" is fat), though my training paces are still (largely) based on that state of fitness

So here's my question: What do I do with pacing now? Do I up my training paces for the next 8 weeks before Marathon? My concern is that I built a base rather quickly, and based on the need to run a certain pace, I'm not sure how much faster that base supports. Also I'm not sure 8 weeks is enough time to do a wholesale adjustment in my approach to the race. Also important is that this is my first marathon (actually my first real race...ever), so I'll stay slightly on the conservative side, but I'd rather blow up trying to run well than just plod through to the end. Thoughts?

MTA: I'm not claiming that I'm over prepared for the marathon, I'm not sure that state of fitness exists for me. Just wondering if I should push my paces in the rest of the preparation time I have available to me.

Scout7