Lost my running Mojo. Help! (Read 211 times)

bone_china

I have been running for 9+ years and am primarily a recreational runner for keeping myself fit. I have never taken part in any race nor do I intend to. I have enjoyed running all these years and have been very modest in my ambition and achievements. On average I run 3-4 times a week with a weekly mileage of 20 - 25 km.

All was well till this year. Year 2013 has been different from all the previous years. I was beset with a troublesome knee injury (patellar tendinopathy) and only recently started visiting a physio. I have had 6 sessions so far with the physio and the treatment comprises ultrasound and hip / quad strengthening exercises. It seems to be working although it is early days yet.

The larger issue however is that I feel exhausted every time I go for a run. Maybe the knee is part of the problem, but another contributing factor could be that I ran about 25% more than my usual yearly mileage in 2012 - which may have caused a feeling of burnout. I have struggled all through 2013 trying to motivate myself to get back to what I was in 2012 - to no avail.

I dont know if age has anything to do with this. I am a male, will turn 45 in Jan 2014. I tried running a few runs real slow and that seemed to have helped - but it necessitates keeping my ego in check 'cause I have to run *real slow* to not feel exhausted.

Can someone please help me with what I could do to re-discover the motivation to run ?