Advice on new running shoes (Read 90 times)

sarahve1

Hi! I hoped to get some advice here on new running shoes, since my current ones (Nike Free RN bought in July 2016) are getting a bit old.

I'm a 22-year old female, 175cm/5ft8inch and almost 70kg/154lbs. 
    I'm not a very great runner, can't seem to build it up. I have been running on and off for about 4 years, and now I try to go 2/3 times a week.
    I usually run for about 12-15 minutes (2km/1.3 miles) but I don't always manage to run the entire distance. Sometimes a take a 2-minute walk halfway through. And sometimes, I can run a bit further, about 15-20 minutes.
    My runs are mostly on light gravel or asphalt and some grass. 
    The things I suffer from the most are stitches in my side and leg heaviness. My legs can get tired and stiff.

I hope that this is enough information! Could anyone give me any tips? Budget is definitely under $200, preferably under $150 even.

Thanks!

Cyberic

What do you like about your current running shoes? What do you dislike? Any recurring pains when running, other than the stitches and leg "heavyness"?

RichardR

Maybe a few comments in general would be helpful....

Concerning side stitches.  I've had them.  They can be painful.  The most common cause for me has been if I run to soon after eating.  I would suggest no running until 2 hours away from the table.  That might help.  Then, for side stitch relief, the simple ideas that work for me are to always begin my exhale sharply when I step on the affected side, or, to alternate sides breathing(that means LRL inhale, RL exhale, RLR inhale, LR exhale, and so on).

Leg heaviness.   hmmm.  One thing which I continue to find difficult even after running for 40 years is choosing the right pace.  I always seem to want to go too fast.  So, the first suggestion is to slow down enough that finishing your desired run is not difficult.  This seems counter productive, but it really is the way we all improve.