elliptical v. treadmill? (Read 1302 times)

Hi, all - It is finally too snowy and cold for me to run safely (5AM) here in Boston - on a consistent basis, anyway. Christmas gift from my husband this year is going to be either a treadmill or an elliptical machine...wondering what you runners would suggest? I'm new to running (6 months), and am so worried about losing my "momentum", if it happens that lousy weather keeps me from getting out there! Which machine would allow for a better workout / more closely approximate the conditioning that comes from running? TIA and happy holidays!

SMART Approach

Treadmill by far!

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com

Treadmill definitely is more like running. Oh wait, it IS running! That said, the elliptical tends to be the piece of home fitness equipment that people actually continue to use and like. That data includes mainly non-runners, though, who were going to use their treadmill for walking or to START a running program. Treadmills usually wind up as expensive clothes hangers. Make sure you get a top-line treadmill or you won't like it. It will be expensive, but worth it if you are really going to maintain a running program on it.

Out there running since dinosaurs roamed the earth

Definitely treadmill.

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Steven Wright

What about a gym membership where you can use both. The treadmills are usually top of the line and if they break, they have to deal with it. Just a thought. Smile

A Saucy Wench

What about a gym membership where you can use both. The treadmills are usually top of the line and if they break, they have to deal with it. Just a thought. Smile