Goal Time for Upcoming Half Marathon (Read 791 times)

Kimmie

Hey there... Wondering if you wanted to throw your 2 cents in on what I should shoot for in my upcoming race on sunday. I ran the National Half Marathon in 1:57. My plan there was to start out easy and then speed up. So, that's what I did. My stats for that race are: Mile 1- 9:00 m 2- 9:09 M3- 9:05 M4- 9:13 (hill) M5- 8:55 M6- 9:33 (long hill here) M7-8:48 M8-8:42 M9-8:35 M10- 8:26 M11-9:33 (taking my jacket off- really slowed me down) M12- 8:17 M13-8:07 I didn't warm up, and like I said, I just wanted to go out easy. Do you think that if I warm up for this race on Sunday that I can attempt sub 1:50? It may not be realistic, but this course will be flatter than the other one. Just wondering what you all think.... as you can see... I'm not very good at maintaining even splits.

Just Be

I don't really have much in terms of advice for you, but I can say that hills make a *huge* difference. As an example, my recent 2 mile best is 11:31, which I ran way back in Feb on a flat track. I hadn't raced the 2 mile again since that point until yesterday, but that was on a hilly outdoor course, and at the same level of effort my final time was somewhere around 12:48... the official results still have yet to be posted, but the big race clock at the finish line was somewhere between 12:47 and 12:49 when I crossed. Good luck! Smile
        Judging by your fast last mile, you might have had some gas left in the tank at the end of that one. Target an 8:30 pace and then take it up a notch after a few miles. I think you can do it! Ditch the jacket...and do a 1 mile warm-up....6 minutes slow jog out, 5 minutes back with some striders thrown in.

Right on Hereford...