Too much data? (Read 129 times)

Verbify

My insurance gives me points toward free stuff or cheaper premiums if I connect certain apps to its app. As a result I have Fitbit, Runkeeper, and MyFitnessPal. They all share different stuff, which is fine. In short, I have a lot of data about my runs and heart rate. Since I’m a beginner, the timed intervals in Runkeeper are nice and the heart rate via Fitbit in interesting, but I’m honestly not sure what to do with all this data I get at the end. Part of me says to just ignore all of it and listen to my body. I’m having fun and enjoy the empty mind I get running. I don’t want to over-analyze everything. Not being sure if the numbers are good, bad, or just interesting leaves me wondering. If there are one or two data points that I probably should be paying the most attention to, I’d appreciate some insight. Thanks in advance. 

an amazing likeness

Listen to the part of you that wants to ignore most of it. Just run but let the data accumulate while you ignore most of it.  Is it for trends.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

T Hound

Slower but happier

If the tech is not working I rely on effort.  When it is working it pretty well matches effort.  So I’m watching pace, heart rate and effort.  But in the end effort is the most important.  So the other two are just for my insecurity and curiosity.

2020 goal:  couch to 5K, currently working on the couch block

paul2432

Resting heart rate when you first wake up is useful to track.  Getting lower is usually a sign of improved fitness.  Rising is a sign of needing added rest or easy days.

How you use the data beyond that depends a lot on your running goals and where you are in your running career. Someone just starting out will make big gains almost no matter what.  Someone trying wring to the last bit of potential out of themselves will need need to dial in their training much more (which will require closer attention to all the various metrics)

MJ5