chafing (Read 212 times)

rrr0005

I am pretty new to this running thing. With my long runs now at 5 - 6 miles, I am beginning to worry about chafing. I have not experience this yet, and I would like to keep it that way. When should I start protecting myself against chafing? I have done some reading, but most of it focuses on what to do, but not when (ex. 5 miles or longer, 6 miles or longer). I am aware that everyone is different and people will chafe at different distances, but I am trying to find a general or average distance.

Your suggestions are appreciated.

Feeling the growl again

No general or average.  When I was skinny and in shape I never chafed and never worried about it.  15 lbs overweight I use BodyGlide on every run.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

DaBurger

Long runs when I get soaking wet can be a problem.  Since there's so much variability between people, IMO it's better to just run and not worry about it.  Then if it starts figure out what caused it and fix it then.

Know thyself.

rrr0005

Got it! Thanks you guys!

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

I think it's mostly a matter of finding the right underwear/shorts/tights/bra/whatever. It's got to be the right fabric, with seams not in bad places. What works for another person may or may not work for you.

Dude, like Spaniel says, BODY GLIDE is awesome. But,,,,you gotta put that shit on BEFORE you leave the house. Other wise you have to carry it with you a find a place to drop trow, and go to town rubbing it on your taint, inner thighs and such. So, it's just easier to use it before you leave for your run. Sometimes i get monkey ass on a long hike in summer, SOMETIMES.