5K running with a student (Read 93 times)

Christirei

I do strength training at a local gym that offers a homeschool class. Younger kiddos have a class and older kids and moms have a class together. There is a 13 year female in my class that started running track and cross country through a local homeschool organization. Her times for the cross country mile this season were around 6 minute miles and her two mile was 14:40 (or close to that) next year she will age up and will start running three mile races. This winter there is no structured program for her but she is wanting to run some 5K's to get used to the distance. She estimates she was running maybe 20 miles a week during her cross country season. I am the only other runner that she and her mom knows well and they were asking me for advice for what she should do and focus on this winter. I don't know if advice should be the same or different based on her age? I never ran as a student, I didn't start running until I was in my 30's and I don't want to stear her wrong.

1. what does winter base building look like for a 13 year old?

2. does she need to make adjustments since most of her recent running has been cross country and she will need to start running on the sidewalks around her neighborhood?

3. what would be a reasonable goal pace for a 5K?? I think she must go out way to fast and that's why she blew up in her 2 mile

Thanks!

Teresadfp

One day at a time

I know she's homeschooled, but maybe her mom could call a couple of high schools and ask to speak to the coach.  I bet a coach would be happy to give recommendations for the student.  The running community is like that!  Smile

I think it's important to get advice from someone who can take the girl's age into account.  What she needs to do will be different than someone even a year or two older.  We called a coach when my son was that age and the guy said S was running too much (this coach is one of the best in Maine, so I trusted his advice).