Which would you rather PR, a 5K or a 10K? (Read 241 times)

npaden

Thought of this the other day on a run.  I'm in a marathon training session so plenty of time to think about things on runs.

I have a net downhill race coming up back where I grew up with a 5K and 10K option.  Both are extremely flat for the first 2 and 5 miles respectively with a 200' elevation drop on the last mile to the finish.

I'm already pretty close to PR shape for both, but I'm pretty sure the downhill at the finish would allow me to really hammer a PR in whichever distance I end up running.  I've been running for 5 years now so my increase in performance is starting to get offset by my increase in age so my PR's are getting harder to come by lately so whichever one of these I choose may end up being my all time PR for that distance.

My 5K PR is pretty recent at 21:12, based on my last race just Saturday (a 5 miler) the calculators say I should be able to sneak in under 21:00

My 10K PR is about my oldest PR at distances I regularly race at and the calculators show I would be right at my PR on it based on this last race.

I guess either PR would have an * beside it because they are downhill, but I didn't even realize that when I decided to run this race, it was because it was in the town I grew up, not because it was a downhill race.

Our local running club has 1 5k and 2 10k each year but if I'm working on a PR I can usually find another 5K to race pretty close.

I had originally planned to run the 10K on the race coming up and wasn't even planning on working on it as a PR race, but after finding out it was a downhill race I started thinking about PRs and the idea of going sub 21:00 on a 5K sounds appealing.

Lots of rambling like my usual posts.  Anyone have any input that would help me make a decision?

Thanks, Nathan

Current PR's:  Mara 3:14:36* (2017); HM 1:36:13 (2017); 10K 43:59 (2014); 5K 21:12 (2016)

catwhoorg

Labrat