Is too much Yoga bad for runners? (Read 444 times)

Is too much Yoga bad for runners? Flexible muscles and ligaments are actually fragile and more prone to injury?

I think extreme yoga may be not be the best option for long distance runners who aim to improve their speed and running performance. Practicing yoga can cause the muscles and ligaments in the body to become more flexible and are stretched over and and over again which also loses its snap back.

Yoga has many health benefits as long as it is practiced safely and not over stretching,  but if you are not doing it correctly or doing too much of it, you will most likely suffer serious injury.

I got some injury the second times because of a stretch after a long run. This time is my IT band.

5k - 20:56 (09/12), 7k - 28:40 (11/12), 10k trial - 43:08  (03/13), 42:05 (05/13), FM - 3:09:28 (05/13), HM - 1:28:20 (05/14), Failed 10K trial - 6:10/mi for 4mi (08/14), FM - 3:03 (09/14)

Mike Dennison

I'm a runner and yoga teacher in Vancouver, Canada.  I teach yoga specifically to runners.

My website is www.yogamadeforrunners.com is you're interested in articles I've written or other stuff.

Drop me a line if you have any questions.

thanks . . . Mike Dennison

Hoban-Jay

I used to think the more flexible of your muscles and ligaments, the less injury a runner can get. However, I read somewhere (can't remember where) saying flexible muscles and ligaments are actually fragile and more prone to injury, such as hamstring.  Is it true?

Does practicing Yoga often increase the chance to get injury as a runner?

Too much of anything can be bad for you...and thus your running.  The question then becomes, what is too much?  Or more appropriately, perhaps work a yoga routine that is conducive to your running, and not just "any" yoga class you randomly decided to join.

AndreaAlcorn

ABSOLUTELY. YOGA = SATAN.

Mike Dennison