Need help from RDs (Read 157 times)

joescott

Mike, Trent, some of  you other guys out there who have directed a race or two, I need a little help if you can spare it.  I made the somewhat questionable decision to step forward to be my sons'  HS XC team booster club president this year, and one of the ideas that has been batted around is for our booster club and team to create a road race as a fundraiser, with my ultimate hope being that we could start a scholarship fund.  After talking this over with our coach, he suggested maybe we target doing a 5k race the second weekend in November.

So.... I'm really a bit lost on how to get started.  I will have a built in set of volunteers, 50 kids and some of their parents and brothers and sisters, and I have some knowledge of what race day should be like from my own experience as a runner, but beyond that I'm at a bit of a loss.  What should I focus on first?  Is this even a good idea?  Can this be pulled off in 5 months?

- Joe

We are fragile creatures on collision with our judgment day.

xhristopher

Whenever you worry about 5 months think about the races others have pulled off in much less time. The race I ran in a few weeks back was pulled together in about 3 weeks to benefit victims of the Boston attacks.

5 months, dozens of volunteers and years of experience with road races. You're way ahead of the game. I'd start with the location and designing a safe, fast, accurate course.

Runners run

Love the Half

I was "volunteered" to be the RD for my daughter's elementary school.  I've run in a boatload of races but this is my first time as RD.  Here are my thoughts.

1.  Decide on a course now.  Start getting the proper permits and arrangements for street closures if needed.  We're using a park but I made sure to book it already.  Be prepared to shift a bit if necessary.