What after the first 5k? (For an overweight beginner) (Read 77 times)

sukesh

Dear runners,

I am quite new to this amazing sport. Three months in, I have gone from gasping for breath running 400m at to completing a 5k run in the local park (the time was 38:48min to be precise. Not very fast, I know, but I am quite proud).

I shall be forever grateful to this wonderful community for educating and supporting me, making my running journey a rewarding and a safe one.

I turn toward this community again for advice on how I should go about running, from here. I am interested in running longer distances (I would love to run a half marathon someday). I must add that I am not particularly interested in speed. Should I run longer (in short increments, of course)? Or should I run more 5ks before I turn up the distance? Should I consider changing my running gear? (I run in Kalenjis that, according to the manufacturer, are designed only for distances lesser than 10km per week, while I end up doing 12 to 14km)

Thanks in advance!

zebano

Honestly I think you answered a lot of the question yourself. I would have said work on losing weight and getting faster. You said you want to run a half marathon so I'd very gradually add a little bit of distance here and there. The hardest part is to not overdo things and injure yourself so I personally like to do the following

1. add distance: roughly  1 mile per day that I run each week i.e. 4 miles if you run 4 times per week distribute it however you want into your runs but try to keep the long run not absurd

2. repeat that week 2 or 3 times

3. reduce mileage by about 20% for 1 week to recover

4. repeat

note that the same pattern holds if you start doing workouts, you're just adding intensity instead of distance for that cycle but you let your body get used to that amount of work for a month, recover and only then add on.

p.s. it's probably worth perusing some common half marathon plans like Hal Higdon's novice 1.