Race Report: Cracked Ribs... (Read 375 times)

ultramarathon/triathlete

Over the Fourth of July weekend I managed to stupidly crack three ribs. Since then, I've not been able to run or really work out at all. Anyone who's ever been side-lined from an injury can probably attest: nothing makes you want to run more than the inability to run. My doctor said they were hairline fractures and that there was nothing to do but wait. I think I must heal quickly because after a week of a lot of pain + an inability to sit up in bed (laughing and sneezing REALLY hurt too) I was finally feeling better this weekend, so I decided to run in the Park-to-Park 10K I had singed up for a while back. I ran it with my fiance, which I've never done before (in a race, but we have run together). Usually I start on the line or as close to it as I can and run in the low 6min pace. This time I started with her, mid pack (3,989 runners). It was a really weird but good/learning experience: First, I had no idea that after the horn blew, it took so long to walk to the starting line! I think the clock was about to click over to 4 minutes when we got there and there were a LOT of people behind us still. We could not really run for a few more minutes after crossing the line since so many other people refused to start running, and were still walking. Annoying. Eventually we got to a trott that I could handle then slowly upped it to about a 10 minute pace. Gwen, my fiance, usually runs around this, so it worked out well for both of us and my ribs were managable--they hurt a bit, but the prospect of not running hurts way more. It was hot; we managed this pace for the first 4 miles. Then I needed to walk a bit becuse the ribs were really achy, so we walked a mile. Gwen was fine with this too, like I said, it was hot. Walking is also something I've never done in a race. Wow. It was hard to do at first, but not so bad afterall! We walked and talked & at mile 5 we started up again. Mile 5 to 6.2 was the fast