Shin Splints (Read 63 times)

Bizbee1111

Hello,

A little bit of background:

I have been running on and off for most of my life. In the last few years I have run 1-2 half marathons a year, with breaks in between where I focused on other workouts like boxing and yoga. There has rarely been a time in the last decade or so that I did not work out at least 4 days a week, at least 45-50 min a time, either running, swimming, bootcamp, etc.

I started training for a full marathon in January after a few months of not running, but concentrating on other steady workouts - the marathon itself is May 21., so I have about 5 weeks.

I got new shoes, and ran a couple of weeks in them, including a 15 mile run. Last Wednesday I ran an 8 mile run, and noticed some shin pain. I skipped a day, then did a 12 mile run on Friday. I had pretty bad shin pain, so I took off Saturday. On Sunday I tried to run, but ended up turning right back around because the shin pain was too intense.

I forced myself to run Monday because I had always heard you should just run through shin splints. I got 3.5 miles but it was a pretty intense pain the whole time. For the rest of that day I was limping pretty badly. I have never gotten shin splints before, and I cannot believe how bad this pain is! That being said, I do not think it is a stress fracture, as the pain is pretty generalized in the shin area.

I did not run the rest of this week even though my training schedule had a 4 mile, a 9 mile, and a 5 miler scheduled. I ran 2 miles this morning and was limping for most of the beginning, but by the time I was finished it was not as bad. I am supposed to run an 18 miler tomorrow. I am sitting down icing my leg currently.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated! I am very afraid of not getting enough miles in before the marathon.

an amazing likeness