I know this is stupid...but (Read 163 times)

Christirei

in 2020 I suffered a tibial stress fracture on my right leg, just above my ankle. I ran on it about a month before the pain became so great I couldn't take it anymore and finally went to see an orthopedic. He put me in an air cast, it took 12 weeks to fully heal. At the time I had been running about 50 mile weeks pretty consistently for about five months

I did the rehab, I took it slow, and now it's 2022 and I finally feel back and am registered for a half marathon next weekend, November 5th. I've been running very consistent 40 mile weeks since June.  I'm pretty sure I have another stress fracture developing, this time of my left leg, tibia, below the knee. The symptoms are almost the same although as of right now, the pain is pretty minimal

I have a long history of injuries cropping up at the end of my training cycles, I have dropped out of two marathons (hamstring, knee) and been sidelined multiple times. I fully recognize that running with a stress fracture is a DUMB IDEA. all that to say, I'm racing this half marathon and then fully expect to have to rest for the remainder of this year. I will not drop out of another race because of a last second injury.

So my question is, what is the best way to do this? I was already planning to taper a bit and reduce my mileage to half for the next week, but maybe I should just do complete rest? I have started icing my leg where the spot is painful. Has anyone else pushed through something like this to get through a goal race? any suggestions besides stop running and rest now?  I do have a pair of calf compression sleeves and some time with Dr Google suggest maybe wearing them daily to support the leg. I do plan on running a bit tomorrow on a soft trail surface instead of on concrete. I could also do treadmill jogs for the next week for a softer landing surface if I needed to.