Should every race be raced? (Read 377 times)

I am hoping to beat my 10k PR in about a month's time at the Tara Kinder 10k (http://www.tarakinder10k.co.uk/) There's no reason why I shouldn't. I've been running seriously for less than 2 years and my PR (46:25 mins) was set at the Tara Kinder last year. It's a very flat course.

However, I have also entered the Colin Potter Memorial 10k in a fortnight's time (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I94_Q-MjXoc), mainly because it has a good party atmosphere surrounding it and a few people from work will be there.

Here's the (minor) thing: I do not want my efforts in the first 10k to undermine my efforts in the second. I want to arrive at the Tara Kinder 10k in optimum condition, and really SMASH that PR. So how should I treat the first 10k? Should I go all out (as I invariably do when it's a race and I'm running with people I like to beat) and to hell with it? Or should I take it easy? Is it even possible to 'take it easy' in a race? Is there a middle way between 'all out' and 'taking it easy' in a race? Should I give my number to someone else and go for a training run instead?

In other words, what are the subtleties involved in using a race for training purposes?

Thanks

Ciaran

Never been to the Americas, but how many of you guys have ever been to Derby?

joescott

2 weeks between races it sounds like?

I'd race it.  But that's just me.  I'm planning on racing a 5k as hard as I can go on July 4 with target races on July 12 (1500m) and July 14 (5000m).

Good luck!

- Joe

We are fragile creatures on collision with our judgment day.

MoBramExam

Probably not a big deal what you do in a 10K a fortnight before, it will be what you do all those "fortdays" in between that will determine how fresh you will be.

A Saucy Wench

I dont think it is unreasonable to race 10K's that distance apart.  That being said you can do other things.