Complete beginner runner to 5K (Read 79 times)

tomschelfaut

Hey everybody! I'm a complete noob at running, so bear with me. I'll give you some background first... I've been lifting weights on and off for the last few years.. Recently I started lifting again after a long layoff, but I wanted to also incorporate a bit of basic cardio training, because despite the weightlifting, my cardiovascular capabilities are pretty awful and I want to fix that. Also, I'm at a decent weight now and I'd like to keep the fat gains at a minimum whilst training my strength levels...

Yesterday I did my first serious attempt at a run ever. I did 5 kilometres in about 32 minutes, switching between walking and running (mostly about 2-3 min running, never more than 1 min walking). Near the end I was running for about 4-5 min straight. It was hard, but very doable. The only thing that bothered me was that my quads and calves were getting sore pretty quickly while running... Today I'm only mildly sore, probably thanks to intensive stretching before and after my run...

Now, my starting goal is to be able to run the whole 5K straight. How should I go about this? Should I just repeat what I did yesterday, but run for a bit longer here and there, or should I follow an online couch to 5K program? Those programs seem to progress pretty slowly and I have the feeling I can get there faster... I just want to be careful with possible injuries as I would like to continue lifting...

The goal would not be to run long distance races, just somewhere between 5 and 10k and improve my time there just to get a decent cardio workout that doesn't cut too much into my weight training...

Some stats: I'm 32 years old, about 200lbs, 6.2 feet tall. I try to eat between 3000 - 3500/3600 Kcal per day, with at least 1g of proteint per lb of bodyweight. Also worth mentioning, I've been a heavy smoker (1.5 packs per day) for the last 15 years straight. Recently I've switched to vaping.

stadjak