Pfitzinger's method - Should I target recommended heart rate range or speed range ? (Read 70 times)

photonslave

Hello everyone,

Newbie to the group. I am training for CIM (Sacramento CA) 2019 for my first BQ attempt. I just started with Pfitzinger's 18 week 55-70mi plan.

For all the runs (Long, medium long, tempo etc..) , he interchangeably suggests using either a percentage of  Heart rate (HRR or MHR) , or a % of target marathon pace. (For example : long runs -> 75 to 84% of Max HR,  or 80-90% of goal marathon pace)

I am just starting my training, so although my target marathon pace is 3:05, I am not there with my pace yet.  So when I try to follow the recommended Pace , my HR goes beyond the adviced range, or if i follow target HR, then the pace is way below the recommendation.

My question is,  should i use the recommended Heart rate as my reference , or the target marathon pace ?

Thanks for any advice Smile

Marky_Mark_17

I'm no expert on Pfitz, but when I got into running, I trained almost exclusively to HR for the first 4-6 months.  If I'd trained to target pace I would've ended up running too hard too often.  I still train to HR for most things other than specific interval or race pace sessions - it's the best way of ensuring that you aren't working too hard.

3,000m: 9:07.7 (Nov-21) | 5,000m: 15:39 (Dec-19) | 10,000m: 32:34 (Mar-20)  

10km: 33:15 (Sep-19) | HM: 1:09:41 (May-21)* | FM: 2:41:41 (Oct-20)

* Net downhill course

Last race: Waterfront HM, 7 Apr, 1:15:48

Up next: Runway5, 4 May

"CONSISTENCY IS KING"

rlopez

I could try to run at paces equivalent to a 2:15 marathon because I really WANT that goal, and fail miserably at every run because in no way is 2:15 an achievable target in the near (or far) future. Trying to train by goal race pace has all kinds of issues. My suggestion is heart rate and or good ol' "perceived effort".

photonslave