Knee issue returning - due to cold weather ?? (Read 625 times)

Hello, I've been running for about a year now. When I first started, I started off to fast (too many miles) and had some knee issues. I actually couldn't run for 2 weeks until my knees healed. After that I started back slowly, building mileage at 10% a week. Well I worked my way up to 25 mpw. My long runs were up to 10.5 miles. I didn't have any knee issues at all during this time but now I am starting to get knee pain again. Mainly in my left knee. I only have knee pain early in the morning when I do my weekend runs. When I run during lunch, I will do 4 to 5 miles with no pain at all. When I run on the treadmil after work I also can do 4 to 5 miles with no pain, but when I go out early on weekends (6:30 to 7:00 am) in colder weather I can only get 2 to 4 miles in before my knee starts to hurt. I've been doing my long runs at 6:30 am for 4 months or so, so I don't think it's time of day that is hurting my knee, I think it could be the colder weather. Has anyone else experienced that or heard that cold weather can cause knee pain? Thanks, Gwin
    2007 Races: 5K: 25 minutes, 10 seconds 10K: 50 minutes, 31 seconds 2008 Races: Half Marathon: 1:55:45 (ZOOMA, Annapolis, MD) 10-Mile Race: 1:25:24 (Piney Point, MD) 2009 Races: Marathon: 4:44:22 (Piney Point, MD)

Lazy idiot

Some people say that shoes need to be replaced between 300-500 miles (your results may vary). Your current shoes (according to your log) are approaching the lower end of this range. Not saying this is the cause of your pain, but it may be something to look at. As far as the cold goes, I usually feel more stiff in the chilly weather, but no more pain than usual is common. Sorry I'm not more help. Good luck getting this figured out!

Tick tock