2019 New York City Marathon Thread (Read 173 times)

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

The jacket is out. For Men or women 

Looks especially nice this year.

LRB

I like going to a play because I'm off my feet but still being entertained.

Agreed. It looks like The Temptations Friday FTW. Now I just gotta find about 12 pizza spots and I'll be all set!

Julia1971

Agreed. It looks like The Temptations Friday FTW. Now I just gotta find about 12 pizza spots and I'll be all set!

That looks promising!  (I was looking through show listings and saw Phantom of the Opera.  Left that show completely confused by why it is/was so popular.  Nobody could find that guy and deal with him.  Seriously?)

LRB

Has anyone ever tried to the pre-race dinner? I've never done one before but this one is not too far from my hotel. I'm just wondering if it's worth it.

Julia1971

Has anyone ever tried to the pre-race dinner? I've never done one before but this one is not too far from my hotel. I'm just wondering if it's worth it.

I haven't done NYCM's.  It's on my list of things to do just so I can be a complete expert on the race.  In recent years, I've stayed at a hotel with a microwave and a grocery store on the corner so I've eaten in my room.  Maybe next year, though...  I have done the pre-race dinner for Boston and if it's comparable, it's a solid meal and great opportunity to meet other runners.

I think we should be getting out bibs soon...

LRB

I haven't done NYCM's. 

looks like I won't be either, it's $55 per person. Whut

Julia1971

It's bib number day!

Somehow, I'm still in Wave 1.  I'll be in the green start, which is fine.

JMac11

RIP Milkman

The benefit of green is that it's much less crowded on 4th Ave AND you get the benefit of bigger crowds. I actually enjoyed my green start more than either of my blue/orange starts.

5K: 16:37 (11/20)  |  10K: 34:49 (10/19)  |  HM: 1:14:57 (5/22)  |  FM: 2:36:31 (12/19) 

HCH

It's bib number day!