What is a realistic target to cut off my 10k time? (Read 842 times)

Hi. I was an occasional user of Cool Running which was fantastic for encouragement and advice (even though I mainly lurked) and hope I might be able to get something similar here. I ran my first race last week, a 10k, in a time of 54:58 (no real idea if that's good or not) and obviously want to improve on that time. I've tried searching, but haven't found anywhere that indicates what would be a realistic, but challenging, rate of improvement. I've been running properly for about 9 months, although I had tried taking it up a few times before then, and am tending to average around 20 miles per week over three or four runs. The next run I was thinking of entering was the Nike Human Race 10k at the end of August. Can anyone offer any advice on a good challenging target for me?
    "Distance breeds speed" - Oscar Wilde
      Rigsby, Lots of great advice on this site, but first you might want to make your log public, so that the folks can get as clear a picture as possible.

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Steven Wright

Rigsby, Lots of great advice on this site, but first you might want to make your log public, so that the folks can get as clear a picture as possible.

jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

Repeating for emphasis Big grin Big grin MTA: Smarta$$es Clowning around