Why no carbonation? (Read 320 times)

semajdunn

Carbonation adds more carbon dioxide to your system for your blood to transport to your lungs to exhale.  If your system is loaded down with extra carbon dioxide being picked up in the intestines by your red blood cells then it has less reds blood cells available to transport the carbon dioxide from the muscles and you will be fatigued sooner.  For the average Joe that drinks carbonated drinks quitting would provide a similar benefit to a top athlete increasing their red blood cell count.  I am not a doctor or a chemist but this is how I resolved my junior high coach's constant reminders that we should quit drinking pop.  It cuts your wind.  I don't believe coaches just made that up for no reason.  Anything you put in your body must find a way out.  Think about how your body gets rid of carbon dioxide.

mikeymike

Carbonation adds more carbon dioxide to your system for your blood to transport to your lungs to exhale.  If your system is loaded down with extra carbon dioxide being picked up in the intestines by your red blood cells then it has less reds blood cells available to transport the carbon dioxide from the muscles and you will be fatigued sooner.  For the average Joe that drinks carbonated drinks quitting would provide a similar benefit to a top athlete increasing their red blood cell count.  I am not a doctor or a chemist but this is how I resolved my junior high coach's constant reminders that we should quit drinking pop.  It cuts your wind.  I don't believe coaches just made that up for no reason.  Anything you put in your body must find a way out.  Think about how your body gets rid of carbon dioxide.

Now I'm no physiology expert but I did take honors biology my sophomore year in high school (29 years ago) and stayed at a Holiday Inn Express once. This reeks of utter nonsense.