Flu shot heresy (Read 2156 times)

jpnairn

straw man

I asked about these things without going into detail on how they might work because I'm not an expert. But since the last three were dismissed out of hand, it might be worthwhile to say why they are supposed to help.

• Wash hands frequently.
    • Keep your hands away from your face. Don't eat with your fingers.
    • Gargle twice a day with warm salt water.
    The H1N1 virus will infect the throat and/or nasal passages and grow for 2 to 3 days before there are any noticeable symptoms. Gargling with salt water stops an infection from growing. If you gargle twice a day, even if you make contact with the virus, it may never have a chance to spread and give you the flu.
    • Take vitamin C.
    Vitamin C boosts the immune system.
    • Drink warm fluids like tea, coffee, and soup.
    This is supposed to work because of that 2-3 day incubation period mentioned above, just like the gargling. While hot soup won't kill the virus, it could wash it down your throat into your digestive tract, where it can be harmlessly digested.

That's what I've been told anyway.

Once again, none of these are supposed to be instead of taking a vaccine. None of these is supposed to be a sure-fire way of preventing the flu. They are just things you can do to help your chances, improve your odds.

He who has the best time wins. Jerry

Mitch & Pete's Mom

"(thus ALL women pregnant women should recieve the vaccine early unless you are a crazy crackpot)"

I work with one of these crazy crackpots.

And you know what I don't get, if people are truly concerned about introducing something foreign to their system, wouldn't a dead virus be the least of the evils? If you do get sick, you are going to get a whole lot of drugs introduced into your system.

I'm currently on a round of anti-bacterial meds and steroids for my eyes. It isn't fun.

Carlsbad 1/2 marathon 1/26.

Intentionally Blank