The Boston Marathon incident has brought me back to running (Read 282 times)

prodiro

I spent a little while in high school running cross country. Just when I started to get into it, a stupid incident caused me to get kicked off the team. A moment during practice has always stuck with me though, when I simultaneously owned an obnoxious kid...and hit a personal milestone for a time.

I drive a lot for a living and am constantly tuned into NPR. Hearing the personal relationship people have with the Boston marathon really got to me.  I'm 25 and haven't ever found something athletic to excel at.  I've always felt I could be good at running if I trained for it.  Well, I finally bought myself some running gear and am going to start training tomorrow.

I've set some kinda crazy goals, but I don't plan on actually *doing* anything crazy to get there (at least I don't think so).  I'm planning on seeing if I can qualify for, and complete the Boston marathon.  I've heard enough people describe this as a goal that many veteran runners have, so I realize completing it in a year is kind of ridiculous.  But I figure that I'll follow a standard training schedule...and the worst thing that happens is it becomes too much and then I just taper down and try to complete it a year later

I think it would be cool as hell to run in next year's marathon.  It's going to be an emotional one for the city of Boston.

Anyway, thought I'd share Smile

KMB

Good choice!

Congrats, and welcome.

bhearn

It can be done. Especially if you ran in high school, and if you train smart. Good luck.

prodiro

That's reassuring Smile

Yea I figured if I was unmotivated in HS and found running distance to come naturally, I should do fine now that I'm actually motivated!  I'm an analytical guy and will do plenty of research in regards to training and form.  Thus far I'm planning on using this training schedule:

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/130.shtml