Newbie Shoe Question (Read 846 times)

I am just getting into running and I have a question about shoes. I have read that you can get about 600-700 kilometers from a pair of shoes but I was curious how you tell when it is time for a new pair. Do people track their mileage or are there things you can look at on the shoes to tell when it is enough? Thanks, Terry
      do you track "mileage" when you measure in kilometers? Shldn't it be kilometerage?
        Call us mixed up, but we still say mileage ...

Think Whirled Peas

Hi Terry, I've only been running about a year, but yeah, I keep track of mileage on each pair of shoes. I start really paying close attention to how my legs feel when the shoes start getting into the 250 mile range. I'm a heavy guy, so my shoes tend to show significant wear by then, and I have need to replace them by around 350 miles. Track your mileage, but use how you're feeling as a truer test of shoe life. Good luck, and keep up the great work! Q MTA: trbl spellar

Just because running is simple does not mean it is easy.

Relentless. Forward. Motion. <repeat>

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

I can feel the cushioning in my shoes go. I'll develop soreness in my lower back from the additional pounding.
              I can feel the cushioning in my shoes go. I'll develop soreness in my lower back from the additional pounding.
              I agree with this. You will feel more soreness in muscles as shoes get older. I dont really track mileage but I have an idea where my shoes are at by weekly mileage totals.