No running on Cipro? (Read 1548 times)

mikeymike

I don't even want to think about Globule's germ line.  Yikes.

Runners run

Eardrops?

Is it a swimmers' ear or a real ear infection (i.e., an infected eardrum)?  If it can be treated with drops it may be swimmers' ear.  It is rare to need pills of any kind for that.  If it is an infected middle ear/eardrup, drops won't do jack.

Unless you have an allergy, EVERY PRESCRIPTION GUIDELINE THAT EXISTS recommends starting with amoxicillin for ear (drum) infections.  Amoxicillin can cost pennies.  Cipro can cost loads, up to $100.  Even if it is covered, it is costing the healthcare system.  Cipro is usually saved as a third line choice, after the first two lines fail.

Turns out cipro used to be really expensive, now it costs pennies.  If your pharmacy charges you more than a couple bucks you are at the wrong place.  Acquisition price on a 100 count bottle of 500mg generics is less than 15 bucks.  I know this cause I'm a pharmacist .  Unless you have a rx for the brand only Ciprodex ear drops you are getting off cheap with cipro. 

As ABX usage guidelines, I'm not saying it is right or wrong, but Amox usage has really fallen off in the last couple years because resistance to it is not especially uncommon anymore.  Seems like alot of docs don't want to see you back in a week with you yelling the Amox didn't work so they skip it.  However, all that said, a large percentage of ear infections are viral in origin, and the ABX rx is to make you feel like you got something out of the visit.

Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul.

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey