Getting to race weight goal. (Read 559 times)

I took a while off from running (about 8 months) after I graduated from college. When I was in the best racing shape of my life I was about 145lbs. I am tring to make a comeback and the plan is to drop all my PRs. The problem is I weigh about 163lbs now and feel real heavy when I run. I never was to much into dieting so I could use some advice. I work a 8:30-5:30 job where I sit behind a desk a lot so I am not really active during the day. I am afraid if I dont eat enough I will feel weak on my runs and my main goal is to run fast. What kind of daily meals would you suggest? Also how many calories should I consume. Thank you for your help.
    zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

The bad news...it's VERY difficult to lose weight AND have optimum running calories. I'm trying to drop about 14#s and have lost ~8 since the new year. But I REALLY have to keep my calories low most of the week and only carb/calorie-up a day or two before my long run. There are calculators online that will give you a range of calories to eat in order to lose weight for your activity level and current weight. They are pretty helpful. I take the recommended # and shoot for that to be my weekly average. And I track EVERYTHING in Fitday.com. Come join us in the Jiggly Joggers group for continuous support. We just yesterday started a 5% down by Summer challenge...definitely feel free to join us in that! Smile k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay