Muscle Fatigue =/= Muscle Soreness? (Read 1476 times)

So I'm just getting into strength training, have been using nautilus equipment. Last night I pushed myself, did 2 sets on each machine. First set was 15 reps, felt like the last couple were tough. Rested 30 seconds or so then did another rep which ranged from 10-15 reps depending on the machine. Second set in all instances was a challenge. At the end felt like I had fatigued the muscles that I worked. So why am I not sore this morning? I have this idea that if I'm not a little sore the day after, I probably didn't work the muscles enough, yet I know that I couldn't have pushed myself anymore last night. Am I wrong? I want to be sure I'm working the muscles enough to make progress (lift more weight, get better muscle definition, etc).
    2009 Goals:
    PR 5K (Ha, current 43:10)
    Run a 10K
    Meet Seasonal Weight Loss Challenges
    Complete my first Sprint Tri