Complete Beginner Newb Guy (Read 213 times)

JaysinSr

Ok, so I have made the decision to chase (literally) my dreams of becoming a Law Enforcement Officer.  I am noticing all the bad decisions I have made in my life working against me in this journey.  I know this forum is more aimed at the longer distances but I was hoping I could get some pointers to help me in my 1.5 mile run and then further down the road my long distance running.  I am currently at a 14.3 minute 1.5 mile.  I need to be much closer to 12, 10 would be awesome.  I have been running for the last few months but cannot seem to break the 14 minute mark.  My breathing is probably one of the biggest hurdles I am facing at this point, as well as figuring out my stride and cadence.  Any pointers would be very much appreciated!  Oh, and yes I do have a solid amount of shin pain...lol

Latent Runner

Ok, so I have made the decision to chase (literally) my dreams of becoming a Law Enforcement Officer.  I am noticing all the bad decisions I have made in my life working against me in this journey.  I know this forum is more aimed at the longer distances but I was hoping I could get some pointers to help me in my 1.5 mile run and then further down the road my long distance running.  I am currently at a 14.3 minute 1.5 mile.  I need to be much closer to 12, 10 would be awesome.  I have been running for the last few months but cannot seem to break the 14 minute mark.  My breathing is probably one of the biggest hurdles I am facing at this point, as well as figuring out my stride and cadence.  Any pointers would be very much appreciated!  Oh, and yes I do have a solid amount of shin pain...lol

Fairly simple solution to achieving your goal; run more miles.

In your situation I would say you have to run much slower and much further to enable yourself to run faster for your mile and a half time trial.

Specific recommendation: