Struggling at the Moment (Read 427 times)

ckerr1999

I have been running now for almost two years. I started in August 2012. I ran my first marathon last October and finished a disappointing 4:09. At that point I decided I to either continue to running with a goal of qualifying for Boston in the next couple of years or quit. So over the winter I started running a lot harder and dropped my time average time per mile from above 9:00/mile to low 8:00/mile with a lot more miles well below 8:00/mile. As well I was running a lot more miles (high 40s per week.) But I have been really struggling the last few weeks. Mostly because I have a lot of crap (and stress) going on in the rest of my life at the moment. Right now it is a struggle just to get out the door on a daily basis. And if I do make it out the door I am exhausted from the rest of the day. So whereas 6 miles should be a piece of cake for me, its a struggle at the moment to get past 3 or 4 miles.  I am registered to run the Chicago Marathon in October, but getting really worried as the marathon is 19 weeks away, and I am suppose to be going into my peak training phase. I am suppose to do a long run tomorrow of 14-15 miles, but I am just hoping I make it 10 miles.  I must confess this past week I thought of quitting more then once, but I don't want to throw 2 years of hard work away. Any advice?? Thanks.

BeeRunB

Abnormally high (for you) mental stress can affect your running. It's the excess hormones. If you can't reduce the stress, try cutting back on your training volume until you get to an equilibrium where you feel you're regaining some desire and energy. During high stress, it's easy to over-train, so do what it takes to remain healthy until the stress lifts. Once it does, you'll return to form fairly quickly (that's been my experience). Life.

Joann Y

Get your hemoglobin checked. Make sure you're not anemic.

some call me Tim