McMillian Calculator (Read 335 times)

Linda

How accurate do you find the McMillian calculator to be when predicting a marathon time from a half marathon time?  The Mcmillian calculator is spitting out a very fast time-one that seems impossible.  The predictor is almost perfect at predicting my half time from my 5K time.  I'm running my first marathon in May.  It should be a fast course.  Should I aim for a BQ (which seems doable) or go for what Mcmillian says is possible?

background:  I'll probably reach 1500 miles this year, so that means  I average 28 miles a week.  I'll amp that up for marathon training, but I doubt that I would run more than 40 miles per week regularly.  I've been running for about 5 years.  My yearly mileage is anywhere between 1000-1500 per year.

The bottom line is that I run regularly, but not high mileage, and I won't be putting in 50 mile weeks in training.  Realistically, I'll put in weeks that range between 35-45.  I'll do whatever speed work my plan will call for.  Oh yes.  I almost forgot about El Nino.  Humm...I've gotta go run right now because it is about to pour.  That might put a damper on my training.

IG profile @lindasig_runs

Headsweats Ambassador Discount Code  "LINDASIGRUNS"

Over 45 PR's:  5K - 21:21, Half - 1:39:49, Full - 3:33.47

Not usually accurate for your first marathon.

Here is an easy way to estimate.  Double your half marathon time and add 7-8 minutes.

Mountains to Beach is fast if it isn't too hot.

"Shut up Legs!" Jens Voigt

Hannibal Granite