Marathon Training and Predicting Result (Read 72 times)

Up_Hill_Down

I have a question about whether I can expect to run Boston faster than I did in my qualifying race (Oct 17).  I started training and was more rigorous about following a plan this time.

I have been using a Pfitzinger 18/55 plan fairly consistently.  I have had some trouble with too many slow miles in weeks of higher volume.  For example, the last Sunday long run with a specific tempo is 18 miles with 14 miles at marathon pace--not only did I fail the 14 miles at marathon pace but the total time for the 18 miles was discouraging.  Note that in January I ran a half marathon at a bit faster than marathon pace and could have easily gotten to 14 miles at marathon pace.  I am doing all the prescribed interval and stride work in the Pfitz plan.  This weekend I changed the Pfitz plan slightly (the plan was 10K race plus 3 mile cooldown on Saturday and 17 long distance miles on Sunday) to run a 5K with just 2 miles of cooldown and run 20 on Sunday).  My run on Sunday was not spectacular but I felt steady the whole time (except the 300 ft climb at 18.5 mile point).

I was feeling a little more hopeful about getting a desired Boston result but then I looked at my long runs prior to my qualifying race and realized I have been running consistently slower on my long runs (slower on most of the shorter runs too)  That is, my best long run was 3 weeks before the race and it was 22 miles at 25 seconds slower than race pace.  My 20 mile run yesterday was 50 seconds slower than race pace (and my longer runs up to this point have been generally worse).