fraud (Read 679 times)

s k i p p y

so mad.  last week my debit card vanished.  yah, I know, how did it happen?  when was the last time you used it? blah blah blah.  IF I KNEW THAT IT WOULDN'T HAVE GONE MISSING Mad smiley 49

anywoo,  tracked down a charge from cabela's.  it was the only time the perp (tee,hee) used it.   They charged $126 on a electronic gift card.   and the gift card was then sent to an email as the recipient.   so sneaky it's not even funny

and now cabela's won't release the email address to me unless I get a subpoena.   I don't even know what that is really.  I am just a dumb cardiology nurse.   never even been arrested.  

is it worth the time and aggravation to drag my sorry ass to the police station for the email address that is probably bogus anyway?  

Wandering Wally

You could report it to the police, give them the information you have and then let them handle it.  They will decide if it's worth pursuing or not.  I'm assuming by now you have cancelled that debit card and got a new one?

Run!  Just Run!

Trail Runner Nation Podcast

I'm not a lawyer (well, actually, I am), but ... using the email may or may not constitute wire fraud, and federal law may be invoked if the acts crossed state lines.  So you might be able to file a complaint with the feds and get them to follow up on it for you.

I assume you froze the account/killed the card/whatever to protect your funds from further plunder?

MTA: see HERE.

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

s k i p p y

You could report it to the police, give them the information you have and then let them handle it.  They will decide if it's worth pursuing or not.  I'm assuming by now you have cancelled that debit card and got a new one?