Advice for 2nd half marathon (Read 619 times)

Butter Tart

I am looking for advice regarding my half marathon, which isn't until late April, but I'm obsessing about it early...

Sorry for not having my data imported into the log already, but here are some possibly relevant facts:

• I have been running for 2 years 8 months.
    • I ran 1100 km in 2011 and have run 2055 so far in 2012.
    • First half marathon: May 2012. time 2:24 (I probably could have done better but was scared to push too much).
    • Other PRs: 5K: 25:58 (but I think the course was a bit short; previous PR 26:45), 10K: 55:58.
    • Average km/week over last 4 months: 54 km (=33.5 miles)
    • I don't feel I have much additional time to devote to running so don't want to massively increase mileage.
    • My long run is currently around 15-16 km.
    • My easy pace is usually around 7:00/km but could be anywhere in the 6:45-7:20 range. I usually run my long runs at around 7:30/km.

My main questions:

• My goal is to eventually run a 2:00-2:05 half marathon. Is this realistic to do in April or not? If not, what would be a realistic goal?
    • What kind of training would I need to do to get there? Is it impossible without increasing mileage? (I was considering doing the Ryan Hall half marathon plan from Runner's World, but they redid their website and now I can't find it.)

Thanks!

muppy

I was looking for that same plan and saw it was gone (think they want you to buy there plan). There is a Ryan Hall plan from Nissan (the car company) you can google, not quite as specific as RW plan but still very good. I'm no expert but with your base of 33 a week you should be in pretty good shape, if it were me I would keep on base building and do some type of speed work once a week until its time to start plan. I just started last week of RH plan and have half next week so will see how I do.
      Butter Tart