2013 Sub-3:00 Marathon Goal Thread (Read 2202 times)

run2thehills

rebuilding r2th v2.0

This was tongue in cheek re. the argument you had with that other guy.

BTW I would settle for a 'low-quality" 2:49....

cc4life07

Wind is not my friend.

I'm new at this so I don't know them all but which ones are on your bucket list?

btw-I didn't even realize there was a list. Sign me up , march 16, RNR DC marathon. Won't be my only shot this year...I think...

"Current" PRs

5K - 18:00 (4/19)   |   HM - 1:19:28 (4/22)

Next Race: A 5K of some sort (Goal: Sub 17:30)

[Competitive] Jerk

This was tongue in cheek re. the argument you had with that other guy.

BTW I would settle for a 'low-quality" 2:49....

I totally got it and I was waiting for someone to call me on it Big grin

cc4life07 - My original plan was to run all 5 marathon majors within a single year. Then at the NYC Marathon expo I learned not only that the NYC marathon was cancelled but that Tokyo became the 6th Marathon Major. Since it's in February I just don't feel ready to run a marathon so close to Philly both financially and physically so I will not be able to run all Marathon Majors in a single calendar year. I will still try to complete all 6 majors in a 12 month period by running Tokyo in 2014.

lagwagon

Lagwagon- my race is may 5th too and im doing 18/70. We can compare notes !

cool.  I havent figured out yet when the program starts (t-18), I suspect its early Jan but have some planning to do.

I was looking at the program last night, and realized I'm already basically at the level he suggests for the first mesocycle.  I may tweak the plan a bit (ie adjust the miles up about 10% across the board).  the 18/85 plan looks cool but with that many doubles i'll either end up unemployed or divorced (both?).

my goal is to overtrain enough such that my 2:58 hurts less than the 3:36 did.

Hi.

This year I was 3:00:15.7 in my first marathon - paced for 2:55 and crashed in the last 8-10 km.