Best shoe you've used for supinators/under pronators.. (Read 2181 times)

Me and my RP

I have high arches and have been wearing Asics Kayanos and 2120s for a while. I've started to get the feeling that these aren't the shoes for me since I started training for my marathon. I started having pain on the outside of my foot, along with pain in my hamstring/butt area. I also noticed that the wear on my shoes is isolated to the outside/heel area. I paid close attention to my feet during my last run and sure enough, I'm running on the outsides of my feet which might be the reason I'm feeling so sore. I got in touch with my shoe guy and I'm to go see him this morning. But he's the one who put me in the Kayanos to begin with. I'm just wondering what type of shoe other folks with high arches have tried so I'm a bit more prepared when he starts showing me shoes. Don't get me wrong, I love my shoe guy. I just think he gave me bad advice with the Kayanos.
      I'm no shoe-guy, but I also wear the outside of my heel. But, this does not mean I supinate or under pronate. In fact, I wear a neutral cushioning shoe (Asics Gel Nimbus). Check the wear pattern of your fore foot. My is smack in the middle, hence the neutral shoe. The outside wear on the heel comes from being a degenerate heel striker, or so I am told. Hopefully, JakeGoldsborough will opine. He works at Fleet Feet (I believe?) and seems to be the resident shoe expert on these boards.
      bratschtown

I am a supinator, too with high arches and the Asics Gel Nimbus has been great for me. What you need is a neutral/cushioned shoe, so the Kayano would not be a good choice. I highly recommend the Nimbus.
        I'm just finishing the second coat.