Sub 2:00 Half Marathon thread (Read 2396 times)

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone - I am trying to read the past fews weeks of posts to try and catch up  - Everyone seems to be making such great strides and kicking butt on so many goals !

I'm a 44 year old mom who used to run in college - but have taken a long hiatus - Jumped back into training 5 months ago - and the 10K I ran was the first time I had raced in 15 years.  Never ran a half - so I am a bit nervous - but glad to be back at it.

Quick question - do you fuel (Gu etc....) when you run a half.  I have heard so many conflicting opinions - and would love to hear what works for you - I have a hard time eating before a race - and during just seems impossible.

What has worked for you all in the past?

Tara

Ready, go.

npaden

I'm not an expert, and I think it is going to depend on the individual to some extent, but doing the math, the average person should not need to fuel during a half marathon.

If you are worried about bonking, a couple of swigs of sports drink during the race should easily get you there from a mathematical perspective.

Mentally, some people feel more confident taking GU and stuff like that during shorter races.  The only time I've used them in shorter races is when I was practicing for my marathon to make sure I could handle taking them at race pace.

Current PR's:  Mara 3:14:36* (2017); HM 1:36:13 (2017); 10K 43:59 (2014); 5K 21:12 (2016)

Hi folks,

I'm new to the thread -- been running for a little over a year, and hoping to hit my sub-2:00 at the Navy-Air Force in DC in September.  My current PR is 2:12, so I've got some work to do!

You all seem to be knocking the sub-2:00 goal out of the park, so I've got good sources of inspiration!